How To Use WhatsApp's Revolutionary New Feature

The feature is known as ‘View Once’ and is similar to Facebook-owned Instagram’s expiring media feature. 

How To Use WhatsApp's Revolutionary New Feature

WhatsApp on Wednesday, August 4 rolled out a new feature that involves disappearing photos within group and private chats.

The feature is known as ‘View Once’ and is similar to Facebook-owned Instagram’s expiring media feature. 

According to the chat platform's blog post, when one sends a photo using this feature, it will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat.

Testing out WhatsApp's new 'disappearing photos' feature. /WHATSAPP

However, that person will have to select View Once media each time he or she wants to send a view once photo or video. 

WhatsApp has also confirmed that any photo or video a user sends using the ‘View Once’ feature will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once that person sends a View Once photo or video, WhatsApp won’t be able to show it again. 

In addition, the messaging app won’t allow users to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with View Once media feature. They can only see if a recipient has opened a View Once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on. 

WhatsApp however allows anyone to take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. Additionally, the individual will not be notified if someone takes a screenshot screen recording, unlike other platforms such as Snapchat. 

The feature is available to all users on the stable app after being part of the beta update a few weeks ago. 

How To Use The Disappearing Photos Feature

  1. First, make sure your phone is running on the latest version of WhatsApp.
  2. After updating your app, select the media and tap on the icon that looks like a timer, right near the ‘Add caption’ tab.
  3. After this, you can choose to add a caption and directly send the file.  
  4. When the media gets opened the sender of the image receives a notification for the same. It shows three separate status checks -- sent, seen and lastly when it's opened. 
  5. When a disappearing image is opened, the image displays a message -- “This photo is set to view once. For more privacy, this photo will disappear after you close it.” 

In case you’ve shared the disappearing message or video in a group, however, the read receipt for the same will be visible to the sender. Even blocked contacts who are part of the group will get to see the disappearing message. 

Testing out WhatsApp's new 'disappearing photos' feature. /FILE