Home » Media » Linda Oguttu Takes Break From KTN

Linda Oguttu Takes Break From KTN

Spread the love

KTN News anchor Linda Oguttu announced on Sunday, December 19 that she was taking a sabbatical leave from the Standard Media Group (SMG).

Speaking to Viral Tea, sources privy to the matter had alleged that she was given a choice to remain working for the media house or serve at the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) caretaker committee following her appointment as its secretariat.

Oguttu announced on social media that she had began to take her leave, but did not state for how long.

Inside KTN News studios. /FILE

“Personal news…I have taken a sabbatical leave from the Standard Group Limited to serve in the FKF Secretariat. Tukutane kwa futa (let’s meet on the pitch). And mask up and get vaccinated…Hii Covid haitaki mchezo (This Covid did not come to play),” she shared on Twitter.

In a press release by Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohamed on Thursday, November 11, Oguttu will be expected to serve in the position for a period of six months.

She will be assisted by Michael Mucheni (secretary), Lorine Nerea Shitubi (Joint Secretary), Caesar Handa, Habo Mwachiro, Edward Rombo, Hiba Hussein, and Gabriel Warigi.

Other members of the secretariat are Dr Walter Ongeti, Rashid Khamisi Ali Shedu, Hon. Rachael Kamweru and Robin Toskin, another KTN presenter.

Toskin is currently the Head of Sport’s desk at the Standard Group, and hosts Sports Chat, on KTN News every Monday morning.

CS Amina stated that she decided to disband the FKF after its officials failed to account for the funds it had been receiving from the government.

She formed a committee of twenty-seven members who will be in charge of the country’s football until a new body is formed by the ministry. It will be chaired by retired Justice Aaron Ringera.

Other members of the committee include General Retired Moses Oyugi, Fatma Adan, Philip Musyimi, Anthony Isayi, Elisha Kiplagat and Hassan Haji.

Others are Fredrick Tureisa, Mwangi Muthee, Neddy Atieno, Ali Amour, Titus Kasuve, Richard Omwela, Bobby Ogolla and JJ Masiga.

The committee will conduct all the affairs of the FKF in accordance with its constitution. It will also ensure that the Football Federation of Kenya is in compliance with the Sports Act (2013).

It will also coordinate and ensure the smooth running of FKF’s operations including team preparations of all local and international sporting events, as well as the elections of FKF in accordance with the Sports Act (2013) and the Sports Registrar’s regulations.

It will also hand over Football Kenya Federation to the newly elected officials after a successful election.

Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohamed. /FILE

Tags: , ,

Related News

Kamene Goro Returns To TV After 5 Years

By Marvin Chege | 2022-05-25 16:32

Media Council Comes To Citizen TV’s Rescue

By Marvin Chege | 2022-05-19 13:44

Marvin Chege
About author: Digital journalist and managing director with a passion for writing captivating stories. Marvin is a young scribe, a social media, sports, gaming junkie and realist who specialises in viral news, multimedia and investigative storytelling.

Read more Stories from Marvin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Around the web