IEBC Error Sees Ruto Lose 10,000 Votes In Kiambu Constituency

This was attributed to a mismatch in Forms 34A and 34B

IEBC Error Sees Ruto Lose 10,000 Votes In Kiambu Constituency
Deputy President William Ruto speaking during a press briefing at his Karen office on August 4, 2022. /YOUTUBE

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has fixed an error in its tally of Deputy President William Ruto's votes in the Kiambu constituency which saw them inflated by 10,000 votes.

Final results released by the IEBC on Saturday, August 13 revealed that Ruto amassed 41,050 votes in the constituency and not 51,050 as indicated in the results submitted earlier.

This was attributed to a mismatch in Forms 34A and 34B and was spotted during the verification of the forms submitted to the Commission by the constituency Returning Officers.

Ongoing verification process at the Bomas of Kenya. /MARTIN WACHIRA.TWITTER

"There was an error in form 34A which was corrected in form 34C," commissioner Justus Nyang'aya noted.

Nyang'aya further praised a section of hawk-eyed journalists who upon adding up the numbers noticed an anomaly.

It still did not affect his lead over Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition flagbearer, Raila Odinga, who came second with 14,860 votes. Raila's vote tally was not affected.

He also pointed out that in Thindigua primary station, Raila was captured as having got 11 votes while the correct figure was 111, an anomaly that was also corrected.

The final results of the county as announced by IEBC were Raila Odinga with 14,860 votes, William Ruto with 41,050 votes, Waihiga Mwaure with 318 votes and George Wajackoyah with 318 votes.

The total valid votes cast was at 56,546 out of which 392 were rejected. This is the same constituency whose parliamentary seat went to Ruto's United Democratic Alliance (UDA), with John Waithaka being declared the MP-elect.

Ruto has been sweeping clean the Mt Kenya region and his party won all parliamentary seats in Kiambu County, which is coincidentally the home county of President Uhuru Kenyatta.

In Uhuru’s backyard of Gatundu South, UDA’s Gabriel Kagombe was declared the MP with 17,815 votes after beating his five competitors.

Two independent candidates, Kungu Kibathi and Geoffrey Njinji emerged second and third with 15,417 and 14,886 votes, respectively. Kiambu Deputy Governor Joyce Ngugi who ran on a Jubilee ticket managed 5,806 votes.

In Ruiru Constituency, incumbent Simon Kingara (UDA) retained his seat with 67,784 after beating Esther Gathogo (Jubilee) who garnered 27,583 votes.

In Githunguri, the Kiambu Woman Representative Gathoni wa Muchomba (UDA) was declared the winner at St Joseph High School tallying centre after she garnered 34,646 votes against Jubilee’s Gabriel Kago who was a distant second with 31,127 votes. Wa Muchomba is the first woman MP for Githunguri.

In Kiambu Constituency, John Waithaka Machua (UDA) clinched the seat after trouncing 10 of his competitors. He got 26,399 votes against his close challenger Jude Njomo (Jubilee) who managed 23,240 votes.

In Juja, George Koimburi (UDA) was declared the winner. He garnered 39,413 votes to retain his seat after beating his close rival Aloise Kinyanjui of Jubilee who got 30,799 votes.

In Gatundu North, Biashara Ward MCA Elijah Njoroge was declared the winner by the IEBC returning officer at St Francis Girls tallying centre, after running as an independent candidate. He got 15,224 votes, beating his closest rival, Jubilee’s Wanjiku Kibe who polled 12,282 votes and UDA’s Francis Kigo garnered 11,716.

Former Lari MP Mburu Kahangara (UDA) made a comeback after he beat the incumbent, Jonah Mburu.

Ruto had earlier upset Azimio running mate Martha Karua's home county, Kirinyaga, with UDA candidates sweeping seats in all the constituencies.

Side by side image of Deputy President William Ruto and Martha Karua. /VIRALTEAKE