Winnie Odinga, Sankok, Kalonzo's Son Elected To EALA

Kenya Kwanza Alliance was given five slots to occupy while the Azimio la Umoja- One Kenya will have four slots. 

Winnie Odinga, Sankok, Kalonzo's Son Elected To EALA
Raila Odinga's daughter, Winnie Odinga. /NAIROBI NEWS

UPDATE: Winnie Odinga, Hassan Omar, Kalonzo Kennedy Musyoka and David Ole Sankok are among the nine representatives elected to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Legislators in the Senate and National Assembly voted on Thursday, November 17, to elect the nine nominees who will sit in the Parliament based in Arusha, Tanzania.

Full List

Kenya Kwanza: Hassan Omar, Zipporah Kering, David Ole Sankok, Mwangi Godfrey Maina, Falhadha Iman

Azimio: Kalonzo Kennedy Musyoka, Winnie Odinga, Kanini Kega, Suleiman Shabal

The Senate on Thursday, November 17 approved the nomination of former Prime Minister Raila Odinga's daughter, Winnie Odinga, to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Winnie got 35 votes with Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal getting 38 votes. Wiper party leader Kalonzo Musyoka's son Kennedy Musyoka got 45 while Fatuma Gedi got 31 votes.

Kanini Kega got 29 votes, however, Jubilee party Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni wound up with one vote.

For Kenya Kwanza, former Mombasa UDA gubernatorial aspirant Hassan Omar got 46 votes, Imam Falhada 43, Charles Muteti 39, Zipporah Kering 37, former nominated MP David Ole Sankok 35 and Mwangi Maina 29.

Kalonzo Musyoka's son, Kennedy Kalonzo. /CAPITAL GROUP

The voting process was in accordance with the gazette notice issued by the Clerk of the National Assembly Samuel Njoroge and his counterpart from the Senate Jeremiah Nyegenye who acted as the presiding officers of the elections.

"Pursuant to Rule 15 (1) of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections (Election of Members of the Assembly) Rules, 2017, we, the Presiding Officers, appoint Thursday, 17th November 2022, as the election day,” read part of the notice.

Kenya has nine seats in the East African Legislative Assembly. Five of the nine went to the Kenya Kwanza coalition while four went to the Azimio la Umoja coalition.

The National Assembly legislators are currently tallying their votes and will pick their representatives.

Hassan Omar, Kering, Sankok, Muteti and Dekow were nominated by Kenya Kwanza through a secret vote within the UDA party during its Parliamentary Group meeting at State House, Nairobi on Wednesday, November 16, reduced from its initial list of 15.

Azimio picked Winnie, Shahbal, Bosire, former Turkana Water and Irrigation CEC Beatrice Askul, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito and Mohammed Diriye (Wajir).

The tenure of the outgoing EALA members is set to expire on December 17, 2022.

Former Nominated MP, David Sankok. /FILE

More to follow...