They Might Have To Sleep In Office- Ruto To CSs Spouses

Ruto warned that the CSs who would be caught in the wrong will deal with him.

They Might Have To Sleep In Office- Ruto To CSs Spouses
President William Ruto speaking at State House on October 26, 2022. /PCS

President William Ruto has promised to enforce a no-nonsense stance on the newly sworn-in Cabinet Secretaries (CS) set to be working with him from Thursday, October 27.

Speaking at State House during their swearing-in, the Head of State affirmed that he will not be lenient on any of the 24 appointed Cabinet members who will not do the right thing.

He jokingly stated that the celebrations amongst the CSs and their families who were in attendance for the event might be shortlived and they might have to work more hours and sacrifice a bit of family time in order to ensure efficient service delivery to Kenyans in their respective dockets.

Quoting a Bible verse, James 4:17 which says, He who knows what is right and doesn’t do it, it is counted on him or her as sin, Ruto warned that the CSs who would be caught in the wrong will deal with him.

Simon Chelugui taking his oath of office on October 27, 2022, as Cooperatives CS. /TWITTER

"Now we have a team and your celebrations will be shortlived because you will be leaving your offices late. So spouses you will have to bear with us, they might have to sleep in their offices for the next couple of months until we have our plan in place.

"James 4:17. I want you to record it somewhere and put it on your desks. Good people we have agreed on what is right so if you don't do it, you will not only miss heaven, but you will have a problem with me," he vowed.

Ruto added that he intends to run an open government alongside his deputy, Rigathi Gachagua and that they will serve Kenyans in a context that promotes transparency, that is having nothing to hide.

He urged the Cabinet members to check on each other and their dockets, not just their own and that they're free to travel across the country as much as possible to get an understanding of the problems to be addressed by their dockets.

"I haven't appointed a Cabinet for any region, county or community. I have appointed a Cabinet for Kenya, I expect you to respect your oath of office and serve all Kenyans equally.

"I encourage you to travel to as many parts of Kenya even if you are called 'Tanga Tanga' but it will be necessary for you to understand what Kenya looks like," he added.

According to Ruto, the Kenya Kwanza government has an agenda for the whole country and the people of Kenya are very expectant about the delivery of its programme and the transformation of Kenya.

"I have listened to you carefully, and You have sworn to serve the people, I didn't hear anyone swear to serve their friends, families or religions. That is the minimum expected of all of us," he said.

"I assure you that in the discharge of your duties in the Ministries you will be serving, you will have my full support, you have no option other than to succeed. Failure is not an option."

The 24 CSs were approved by the National Assembly on Wednesday, October 26, for the appointment, including Prime Cabinet Secretary nominee, Musalia Mudavadi, whom President Ruto has primed to coordinate legislative policy and chair Principal Secretary Committees to supervise the delivery of government projects.

Here is the full list of Appointed Cabinet Secretaries:

  1. Prime Cabinet Secretary - Musalia Mudavadi 
  2. Attorney General - Justin Bedan Muturi Njoka
  3. Aden Duale (Defense)
  4. Labour Cabinet Secretary Simon Chelugui (Co-operatives and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Development, MSMEs)
  5. Alice Wahome (Water, Sanitation and Irrigation)
  6. Prof Kithure Kindiki (Interior and National Administration)
  7. Moses Kuria (Trade, Investment and Industry)
  8. Susan Nakhumicha (Health)
  9. Kipchumba Murkomen (Roads, Transport and Public Works),
  10. Soipan Tuya (Environment and Forestry)
  11. Prof Njuguna Ndung’u (National Treasury and Planning)
  12. Ezekiel Machogu (Education)
  13. Eliud Owalo (ICT and Digital Economy)
  14. Rebecca Miano (East African Community, Arid and Semi-Arid Lands and Regional Development)
  15. Florence Bore (Labour and Social Protection)
  16. Zacharia Njeru (Lands, Housing and Urban Development)
  17. Davis Chirchir (Energy and Petroleum)
  18. Salim Mvurya (Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs)
  19. Mercy Wanjau (Secretary to the Cabinet)
  20. Alfred Mutua (Foreign and Diaspora Affairs)
  21. Ababu Namwamba (Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts)
  22. Peninah Malonza (Tourism and Wildlife).
  23. Mithika Linturi (Agriculture)
  24. Aisha Jumwa (Public Service)

Tourism Cabinet Secretary nominee Peninah Malonza during her vetting. /NATIONAL ASSEMBLY.TWITTER